By Chance, It Never Happened

I look at you
Dying to know
If you, by chance
Do notice my stare.

My emotions laid bare
In the depths of my eyes.

My bravado a flimsy disguise
I yet believe you see past.

But of course you don’t.
My performance is too good.
So good it never happened.
And you will never think to look.

Another quick poem. It’s not great and I don’t particularly like it. I’m posting it for the sake of posting once a week and challenging myself to write more.

One thought on “By Chance, It Never Happened

  1. Short and sweet–yet still filled with heartache.
    I particularly like the unpredictable rhyme scheme which has a good flow to it.

    Keep writing, keep posting, and keep challenging yourself.
    ~GMcG

Leave a Reply

