Words that endure…

“Heaven knows we need never be ashamed of our tears, for they are rain upon the blinding dust of earth, overlying our hard hearts. I was better after I had cried, than before–more sorry, more aware of my own ingratitude, more gentle.”

― Charles Dickens, Great Expectations

First off Dickens can be picked up at anytime and his words just make life a little less painful to deal with. Just try it, grab one of his works and start reading. Even if you’ve read it a hundred times, I promise something will connect with you in a way it never has before.

Anyway back to the quote. I’ve been having a roller coaster of emotions lately over a lot of things in life and decided to pick up my well-worn copy of Great Expectations and of course this is the first paragraph to stick out to me. It happened to be so potent it made me cry even more than I already was.

I grew up in an interesting family to say the least, my mother a person who encouraged emotions in an almost pushy manner. And my father a 1950’s born product of the nuclear family model. No emotions, children are seen and not heard, and nothing is ever talked about. Despite all of the contradictory methods my parents implemented, emotionally and otherwise, I grew up firmly believing hiding your emotions away is bulls***.

Crying and freaking out can make you see things in different light. You need to let emotions out. However you let them out, hopefully its in a good way, you just should. No matter why you are upset, it is not a good thing to hold it in. Emotions need to take their course, like the ocean tides, emotions clean you in a way. So let the tide come in and go back out again, let your emotions run their course.

Leave a Reply

